Tuesday, November 5, 2013

Bruce Rosenblum to Serve Second Term as TV Academy Chairman

Bruce Rosenblum will return as president of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences as he is running unopposed for a second term, it was announced Monday by the Academy. 

Rosenblum ran two years ago in a contested election and became the first high level industry executive in the position since 1997.

Other officers who are re-elected because they are running unopposed are:

Vice Chair - Kevin Hamburger

Second Vice Chair – Frank Scherma

Treasurer – Susan Nessanbaum-Goldberg

Vice Chair Los Angeles Area – Greg Taylor

The current Secretary Marcelino Ford was "termed out" so she could not run again. 

There are three candidates running to replace her as Secretary:


·         Sheila Manning, Governor, Commercials Peer Group

·         Mark Scott Spatny, Governor, Special Visual Effects Peer Group

·         Rob Swartz, Governor, Television Executives Peer Group

When he was elected to a two-year term in 2011 (which actually began Jan. 2012), Rosenblum was the first high-level industry executive to lead the TV Academy since Rich Frank. Rosenblum  had been recruited by some Academy members to replace the out-going John Shaffner, a production designer, to boost the profile of the group behind the Emmys.

Rosenblum said when elected that his goals included growing the role of the Academy beyond the Emmys, expanding the diversity of ATAS membership, bringing in a new generation of industry players from companies like Netflix and Amazon, promoting anti-piracy efforts, encourage local production and help develop new employment opportunities within the TV industry.

At the time Rosenblum was president of the Warner Bros. TV Group, the largest supplier of primetime shows to American television broadcast networks. A graduate of USC with a law degree from UCLA, Rosenblum left Warner Bros. TV in May 2012 after he was passed over for the position as the new head of the studio.

In June 2013, Rosenblum jointed Legendary Entertainment as its president of television and digital. Legendary at the time was in the process of moving its home base away from Warner Bros. to a new home, which turned out to be Universal Studios.

During his tenure Rosenblum has helped bring in more high-level members like Gail Berman and Steve Mosko, overseen the transition  to a new chief operating officer (the permanent person who runs the Academy day to day) and been involved in two years of Emmy shows that have attracted higher ratings than in other recent years.

He has also appointed to the ATAS executive committee well known industry players Kevin Beggs of Lionsgate, Mark Pedowitz of The CW, John Landgraf of FX and Nancy Josephson, an agent and partner in WME. 

He has also worked to grow the membership bringing in younger members and adding some diversity. In 2011, ATAS had 16,007 members and in 2013 that was up to 18,151.

The voting on officers is not done by the entire ATAS membership. The vote is among about 80 members who serve as representatives of the various branches. In this case all those running unopposed will simply be approved at that meeting.

For candidates who are opposed there is a forum on Nov. 21, scheduled by the ATAS board of governors, where they will have a chance to speak prior to a vote.


Source: http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/thr/news/~3/hlNmtv-duls/bruce-rosenblum-serve-second-term-653237
Similar Articles: hayden panettiere   What Time Does Ios 7 Come Out   Eiza Gonzalez   sports illustrated   Sunny Ozell  

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.